40 Days Of Trivalent Risks

Today was my fortieth day in Japan…FORTY days…where did the time go? Also of note it was my last day in Japan : (

We started our morning by packing up our entire room, we managed to get it all in one checked and one carry on bag each…but they are all really heavy and full. I don’t know how it happened but I bought so many clothes, I guess coming to Japan I didn’t think they would have sizes that fit me so I didn’t expect to buy a lot of clothing. But they did have my size in a lot more stores then I expected…and of course I had to bring home the Japanese fashions.

Another thing that I didn’t anticipate was that check out was at 10am, all my other check outs had been at 11am and it slipped my mind until the cleaning lady walked into our room and we had to quickly rush out while finishing the last of the packing. The hostel didn’t seem to mind when we checked out 30mins late as they didn’t charge us for the tardiness ❤

Our hostel stored our bags for the day as our flight doesn’t leave until 8pm, which is super awesome that we don’t have to drag them around with us every where or go sit in the airport for hours.
For our last day we went to Shinsaibashi-suji, a popular shopping street, and I know what your thinking “Why would you go to yet another shopping street when you cant fit all your things in your suitcase as it is??”, the answer…I don’t know, I think I have a problem…
Any ways! It was a lot of fun, we stopped at a cafe half way through the street for coffee and ice cream!

Image

Then it happened…we found another Body Line store (the one that sells knock off Lolita clothes). Natasha and Remy definitely liked this store (so did I, lol), I cant recall if I mentioned this before but the plan to make the most use of our new clothes is to have a “Lolita day” maybe once a month or some thing, in honor of Sundays in Harujuku where they all dress up. Hah, well we like the idea, maybe we can make it popular in Winnipeg, feel free to join us!

After all the lacy and frilly dresses we spent some time wandering and exploring and found Dotonbori, the famous food street!

Image

Image

After exploring Dotonbori we headed back to the hostel to pick up our bags and head to the airport. Our hostel also offered discount tickets for the direct train to the Kansai airport, jackpot. It was a good thing we had headed back early as we ran into a few hick-ups on the journey. First, the Shin-Imamiya station that is serviced by the Nankai railway is not the same station we had gone to earlier…it was a bit of a walk down the street. This walk wouldn’t have been long or difficult if we weren’t dragging our heavy heavy bags with us. Then by my quick judgment to hop on the first train that arrived we ended up on the local train instead of the special rapid service train…so it took us over an hour to get there, even though the poster said it would only take 45 min. I was worried we got on the wrong train a few times but eventually we got to the airport. The Kansai airport was built on a man-made island which is kind of neat but also just a pinch worrisome. After navigating to the correct terminal etc we checked in at the Cebu Pacific desk…and that’s when it all went down hill. Cebu Pacific has very strict weight regulations and checking a bag is an additional charge on the price of your flight. I don’t recall if I mentioned this earlier but they charge you for your seat on top of the price of the flight, then we were charged to check one bag each…then our carry on bags were too heavy and we had to shift some items…then two of the three checked bags were way over our weight limit. Now Cebu Pacific charges ¥2000 for each KG over weight…we were 8 KG over weight…~$160 later…what we were to do? We couldn’t leave any thing behind, most of our items were things we were bringing out to the Philippines for our adopted mother or stuff we bought in Japan…so we had to pay what I thought was an exorbitant amount of money, later we found out our adopted mother had had to pay nearly $900 on her way home at Christmas as she had also been wayyyy overweight. Before we leave the Philippines we can purchase extra weight allowance online, just not the same day as the flight, and it will only be an addition $20 per bag or so…

Once the soul crushing was over with (I still can’t believe we paid that much) we found our gate and waited for the airplane. It was at this moment when our stomachs started to growl that I realized in my haste to check out of the hostel we had not packed any food for the plane or warmer clothes (as I am always cold on flights), at this point we just had to make do with what we had.
Then our flight was delayed an hour…this didn’t bother us so much as the Kansai airport is a fairly nice airport, we had a comfy spot to sit next to an outlet, the washrooms were clean, and there were some vending machines near by. Plus we had a 4.5 hour layover in Manila any ways so we might as well spend more time in the better of the two airports.
When we did finally get on our flight we learned another reason not to fly Cebu Pacific, ever: they don’t serve food or drinks on their international flights. Let me be more specific, they serve food and drinks for a fee…but not even a free pop or water. I’m just saying…even Air Canada gives you some sort of beverage on their shortest flights. Not to mention the seats were super tiny, their was no leg room for us long-legged people, it was an all around uncomfortable flight and I have flown a decent amount that this went beyond the general discomforts of flying.

Image

However it happened, we managed to survive the unbearable 4 hour flight to Manila. Customs and immigration went well with the help of our visitors visa, and they had a handy little trolly for connecting flight for your checked bags…so we didn’t have to go through more soul crushing. We stopped at a “Bistro” in the airport and got some thing to eat, honestly at 1am after not eating dinner the food was fabulous!
Then it all began again (more soul crushing), the Manila airport wouldn’t let me through security with my umbrella…they said I had to check it…but it wouldn’t fit in my bag, that’s why I was carrying it, and they already took my bags from me…and I wasn’t about to leave it behind with out a fight because I bought it in Japan and it looks all Samurai-like. Eventually they told me I could check it on its own, I was really worried though that it wouldn’t make it out unscathed, as I know what my bag looks like every time I pick it up from the conveyor belt. AND they wanted me to weigh it…AS IF…I already paid you $160 don’t you dare give me that nonsense! Plus I had no trouble bringing my umbrella on the plane in Osaka, I was just so done with this airline/place.

I apologize about the ranting but it continues…I just want every one to know what a horrid airline Cebu Pacific is and how unpleasant Manila airport is so you can make informed decisions if you decide to fly with/through them.

So then we waited for our next flight, by this time we only had two hours to wait but it was freezing in the airport…and we hadn’t didn’t have any warm cloths. We huddled together on the waiting area benches for warmth, I tried to get my cardigan to wrap around my legs but it didn’t work so well…

Image

Hah this photo makes me laugh…in a sad, happy-its-over kind of way.

This last flight was only an hour and some how I managed to sleep after takeoff and woke up when we were making the final decent. When we picked up our bags I was happy to find my umbrella undamaged, though a little dirty. All that was left was to wait for our ride to pick us up, and the rest of this adventure is for another post.

I would NEVER EVER recommend flying with this airline, unless it was to some one I strongly dislike..The last time we came to the Philippines we were able to fly directly into Mactan through Korean Air, the difference would have been ~$50 and I will gladly pay that if I ever fly this way again, they were such an awesome airline.

This is the end of my adventures in Japan (for now), from here on out it will be all about my adventures in the Philippines. Thank you to every one out there following my adventures, liking my blog, and making comments. I never thought I would end up enjoying my blogging experience as much as I have but you guys have really made it worth the effort I put into these updates ❤
I also hope that my experiences can help inform other travelers, I know I have learned a lot and maybe next time I can be more prepared.

Until next time.

2 responses to “40 Days Of Trivalent Risks

  • Chris

    I’ve really enjoyed reading about your adventures and travels in Japan! Thanks for sharing everything and it all seemed so awesome and makes me want to go that much more!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

