Day 22: An Adventure In Day Dreaming

In exactly one week from today the program will be finished. I am so sad about this, where did the time go? I want to stay and explore more, shop more, and just live this lifestyle with my new friends, I don’t want this to end.

Lecture as always was a struggle for me. After class Tim, Clark and I spoke to our professor as on Tuesday we have some special plans that might require us to miss class, because its pretty obvious when you don’t attend class we wanted to give him a heads up. He wasn’t thrilled we wanted to skip and as a professor he couldn’t approve it, but being upfront with him and honest paid off. He compromised with us and said he would end class early so we could go on our side adventure with out missing class! I have taken several classes with this professor and NEVER has he been that accommodating, or understanding. I was really nervous about talking with him on that subject but it turned out so well that I have a new belief in being upfront with others.

Ok moving on, our field trip today was to the Ni-jo castle.  Nijo castle was built in 1603 as the Kyoto residence of Tokugawa Ieyasu, the first shogun of the Edo period (1603-1867). His grandson Iemitsu completed the castles palace buildings 23 years later and further expanded the castle by adding a five story castle keep.
I only have photos of the outside as they did not allow photographs inside as it could potentially damage the art work.

Image

The neat thing about Ni-jo is that the floor was designed in a way to make a squeaking noise when you walk across it. The noise sounds more like a nightingale chirping and was really neat to hear with the large group of tourists all moving at the same time. It was designed this way to alert the shogun or other important people that resided here if some one was outside the room when they were not supposed to be (perhaps in an assassination attempt).
As I walked the halls of the castle I began to block out all the other people in the building. I was in a daydream where I was some upper class woman residing in this castle.I was barefoot on the wood floors and let the sensation aid my daydream, as well I took in the smell of the wooden building, the sounds of the chirping floor beneath me, and the beautiful artwork that adorned the halls. It was not hard to get lost in this fantasy, if I walked slow enough the groups would pass me by and Id be as alone as I could be in that room, the entire atmosphere of this building was just phenomenal, most architecture of this time played with shadows to draw one in and it certainly took hold of me.

After the tour of the inside, we toured the garden where I was allowed to take pictures.

Image

I just cant catch a break with the weather, it was super hot and humid today and I had worn a layer or two too many…but again I got so many compliments on my outfit! We only toured half the garden area due to the heat and then headed home to prepare for a night of drinking and fun.

Our group had made plans to do Izakaya and karaoke again today. However we agreed to just go to Izakaya because we all had to be at the school early the next morning or else we would miss the overnight field trip.
I invited my new Japanese friend to come with us, he told me he had promised to hang out with a friend today but sid he was “really sad he couldn’t come out with me” teeheehee. Clark and I are going to see if we can go on a double date with both our Japanese friends, sorry mom!

So we went to Izakaya and had a really great time as always! We finished up the night drinking in my apartment while I attempted to pack my bag for the overnight trip, while listening to my friends chide me for packing too many clothes…A girl has got to have options…Eventually I paired it down to one warm-weather outfit and one cold-weather option (as we are going to be on a mountain!). I also packed a plastic grocery bag full of snacks for the bus ride to and from,

4 responses to “Day 22: An Adventure In Day Dreaming

Leave a Reply

